How to update Address using API

Hi,

I am new to companies house APIs. I want to test “GET Address” API.
For that I created a dummy application for me. But while trying to run the API, it is asking for a transaction ID. Where do I create/get a transaction ID?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Regards,
Prerna

Welcome!
Are you using the Manipulate Company Data (API Filing) reference API? I have not used this API myself but I believe that in that case you would first create a transaction (for adding a filing / update) using the create endpoint. This returns a resource which includes an ID for that transaction - which seems to be the transaction id you are looking for.

However… I wonder what task you want to achieve? Do you want to file information (update or add details) on behalf of a company? In that case the “Manipulate Company Data (API Filing) reference” seems the right one.

OR - are you wanting to find information on any of the companies which are already registered - and not make filings or update data for a company? In that case you would use a completely different API - for example the Companies House public data API. A note if you do try that API: it uses a different method of authorization from the other API e.g. the public data API uses a different “username and password” and uses http basic, not OAuth2.

Thank you Voracityemail for your response.
My requirement is , I want to update data on behalf of a company and I am trying to use [Manipulate Company Data (API Filing) but when I am trying to create a transaction it is giving me “Bad Request” Error.

Unfortunately I can’t help further as I don’t use that API. I would suggest:

• working through the overview documentation for this API to see if there is something specific that is missing in your request or a constraint on the data that is not being met.