How to get company family trees?

Hi,

Apologies for my ignorance as I’m a newbie to this API, and also fairly new to Python.

I’m trying to fetch family trees using this API, which means, input a list of company names and returns its parent company and/or child company, if applicable.

Is this API capable to achieve my goal? If so, could you please give me some idea how to do it?

Many many thanks.

There is no concept of parent/child companies, so no, this API will not help you achieve your goal.
Companies can be corporate officers of other companies.
Officers are available through the API.
Hope this helps.

I believe I have asked about the above quote in a new discussion.
How do you find what companies that company is an officer of ? I can see it for a person officer using list appointments ?

many thanks.

You just need to look that company up as an officer (not a company) and (if they are an officer of any companies) then lookup the appointments of that officer.
Hope that helps

Hi,
Im trying to find out if it is possible to get the parent company information. Ive found this thread that states you cannot using the API. However, listed under the company profile resource section of the API it mentions parent companies:

branch_company_details.parent_company_name string Parent company name.
branch_company_details.parent_company_number string Parent company number.

Do these fields work and if so, do you have examples of companies that it works with?

Thankyou

Emma

There are actually a couple of ways in which you may be able to trace the relationships between companies using the API:

1. Foreign or overseas companies (company numbers starting FC… / NF… / SF…) should have an endpoint available listing their UK Establishments (company numbers starting BR…). In turn, the company profile of the UK establishments should reference the “parent” overseas company.