Power BI API connection failure

Hi All,

I am completely new to this so any advice would be appreciated.

The situation is the following:

I created a CH account and created a Live Application and generated a stream API key.

As soon as try to “Get the data” through the web within Power Bi I ve got a 400 error code. Not too sure where is the issue but can someone tell me which is the correct URL I need to use please?

If I have the proper URL I can choose Basic authentication and provide my API key as a user name and ideally everything should work.

Maybe I am completely in the dark so every help is much appreciated.

Thanks

1 Like

Welcome. I would definitely start with:

a) Which API are you trying to connect to? There are several - the main two would be the Streaming API and the Public Data API.

b) You mention a “stream API key”. If you’re wanting to use the Streaming API then Power Bi would not seem to be a good choice. The Streaming API is designed for a process which connects then stays connected, processing data when Companies House send it. If you want to make a query the Public Data API is the one to use.

c) Error 400 suggests you’ve not got the right URL as you say. If you post what URL you are trying to access someone may be able to see what the issue is. The URLs (“endpoints”) are described in the documentation.

Before replying I recommend you look at my answer here to another Power Bi query to see if that helps:

You can also search this forum using the “magnifier” icon at the top right - you’ll find almost every question has an answer that you can find.

Good luck.

1 Like

Hi,

Thank you very much for your quick and detailed response.

The API I try to connect is the https://stream.companieshouse.gov.uk/companies. I use this URL within Power BI and use the Basic authentication option then provide my live stream API key as a username and leave the password section blank.