SIC Code and date of filing combination

Hello,

I am very much a newbie to CH API, and I would please like to know simply if it’s possible to search all companies with a specified SIC Code, and then return results only where a filing has been made on a specified date?

I have searched through the forum and doesn’t seem clear whether the advanced search by SIC Code has been fully implemented, and I am also not sure whether the second part of the search is possible either. As I say, I am a beginner at this, so any help very much appreciated!

Many thanks in advance.

We don’t use the advanced search much so perhaps someone will confirm, but as far as I’m aware the Advanced Search has a SIC code search and that works as is documented in Companies House documentation and on the website. (Always worth a check on this forum in case of specific issues / outstanding “features” though!)

When you say:

What do you want to achieve? The reason I ask is the filing history information is (at least as presented in the API) a separate dataset and is not searchable in this way. You can request it for a given company and filter the list of filings by category. You can’t search by date. So essentially you would need to separately request this for each company in your companies search, retrieving data by “pages” (Companies House only gives you a limited number of results per request) until you got something before a particular date or reached the first filing.

There is an accounts filings bulk dataset. If it’s specifically those kinds of filings you’re interested in you could get that and search it. However I’m not aware of any bulk dataset for all filings.
The Advanced Companies Search returns a list of companies. If you want basic company information (formed on / status / address etc) that’s your information there of course.

Hope this helps.

1 Like

Thanks voracityemail, appreciate the response.